

Executive Committee meeting minutes

WindEurope

13 May 2020



This project has received funding from the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 826042

This report has been produced with support of the European Commission. The views represented in the report are those of its authors and do not represent the views or official position of the European Commission.

etipwind.eu



Table of Contents

1	Introduction	3
2	ETIPWind Executive Committee elections	3
3	2020 work programme	3
4	Factsheet discussion	3
5	List of participants	4



1 Introduction

Aidan Cronin, Chair of the Executive Committee, opened the meeting. He presented the agenda and reminded participants of the competition compliance policy.

2 ETIPWind Executive Committee elections

The election period has ended. The Secretariat has received numerous good applications and has analysed whether the applications meet the eligibility criteria.

The secretariat will propose 18 names to represent the industry at the Executive Committee (EXCO) to the Advisory Group.

All applicants will receive a message of the secretariat on whether their application has been withheld.

The new composition of the EXCO will be made public in early June and before the next scheduled EXCO meeting.

A new chairperson will be officially elected by the EXCO at their next meeting (23 June).

3 2020 work programme

All remaining EXCO meetings for 2020 will be held as a telco. These telcoes will last 2 hours maximum to ensure lively and engaging discussions. Whenever necessary or upon the request of the EXCO additional telco's will be organised.

The 2020 ETIPWind workshop will be integrated into the EERA JP Wind and SETWIND annual event. In response to the covid19-crises, the event will be held as a series of virtual workshops. The Secretariat is developing a new concept together with EERA and SETWIND.

Work on the 2021 publication will continue as planned. The WindEurope secretariat (Ivan Pineda and Daniel Fraile) will present a more detailed workflow and a first outline of the report at the next EXCO meeting in June.

The secretariat will put on hold the organisation of a roundtable with representatives from European institutions, the wind sector and other renewable energy sectors until there is more clarity on travel restrictions and the 2020 events calendar.

There will be a webinar on 30 June 2020 to disseminate the recommendations of the factsheet (see below).

4 Factsheet discussion

The EXCO discussed the latest developments of the Factsheet on floating offshore wind.

Regarding costs, the EXCO agreed that:

- Due to the specific cost profile of each floating offshore wind project, the cost reduction trend should be presented as a range;
- Cost reduction are a function of market deployment (volumes) and the factsheet should highlight the global volumes for floating wind (potentially broken down in European and non-European); and
- Provided the volumes, floating wind will become cost-competitive with bottom-fixed offshore wind by 2030.

The secretariat will organise another telco on 26 May 2020 for the EXCO to discuss:



- The assumptions related to cost profile of floating offshore wind (capex breakdown, learning rate...);
- Whether the cost reduction should be in CAPEX or LCoE; and
- The amount of GW installed needed to deliver floating offshore wind that is cost-competitive with bottom-fixed offshore wind.

Regarding the benefits of floating offshore wind, the EXCO highlighted that:

- There needs to be a strong focus on job creation. Floating offshore wind will rely heavily on local supply chains, creating local jobs in manufacturing, installation and assembly, and services.
- The export potential is wholly dependent on whether the technology and knowledge will be developed in Europe. To unlock this potential deployment in European waters needs to accelerate fast.
- Floating offshore wind is also a key technology to help decarbonise the energy system on islands.

5 List of participants

Organisation	Representative
ABB	Adrian Timbus
DNV GL	Lars Landberg
EAWE	Athanasios Kolios
EDF	Anastasiya Shapochkina
EERA (CENER)	Antonio Ugarte
EERA (DTU)	Nicolaos Cutululis
EERA (DTU)	Niels Peter Hauge Madsen
EERA (ForWind)	Stephan Barth
EERA (Fraunhofer IWES)	Arno Van Wingerde
EERA (ORE Catapult)	Paul McKeever
EERA (SINTEF Energy Research)	John Olav Tande
EERA (TNO)	Peter Eecen
ENEL Green power	Demetrio Malara
ENEL Green Power	Giancarlo Potenza
ENERCON	Andree Altmikus
Equinor	Hanne Wigum



European Commission	Carlos Eduardo Lima da Cunha			
GE	Jaco Nies			
Iberdrola Energía Renovables	César Yanes Baonza			
MHI Vestas Offshore Wind	Anders Bach Andersen			
Ørsted Wind Power	Jørn Scharling Holm			
RES	Mike Anderson			
RWE Renewables International	Victoria Dahmen			
Shell Energy Europe (observer)	Wouter Haans			
Siemens Gamesa Renewable Energy	Aidan Cronin			
WEAMEC (observer)	Florent Vince			
WindEurope	Alexander Vandenberghe			
WindEurope	Lizet Ramirez			
WindEurope	Sabina Potestio			